Punishments for a Hit and Run

When two drivers are involved in a car accident, they must follow Minnesota’s state traffic laws right after the crash. However, the driver that hit the other car crash might try and escape before the other driver can get a better look at their license plate or vehicle type in an attempt to avoid the legal and financial ramifications they could obtain from a motor vehicle accident.

Failure to stay around and follow Minnesota’s post-accident procedures can result in hit and run charges. Drivers who are victims of car crashes should be aware of what each driver must do after an accident to keep an eye out for any negligent behavior from the other driver.

Post-accident procedures

Minnesota requires both drivers to stop after a motor vehicle collision that causes vehicle damage, injury or death. After the drivers find a safe place to put their vehicles, the guilty driver must exchange several details with the victim such as their insurance information, full name, address, car type, license plate and contact information.

If the accident is serious and causes bodily harm, one of the drivers should contact the police to help assess the situation, assist the victim and help clear the area. After both drivers exchange their information and leave safely, they should contact their insurance agents to process the information and provide damage compensation.

The consequences of leaving the scene of an accident

If one of the drivers does not follow the law and refuses to stop or exchange information after the accident, then their violation could result in misdemeanor or felony charges. Failing to report the accident to the police or insurance companies can result in suspension of their driver’s license. Some hit and runs are misdemeanor charges, which results in up to 1 year of imprisonment and fines up to $1,000.

However, several hit and run cases are often result in felony charges. If the driver causes significant physical harm to the victim, then they could face up to 5 years or imprisonment and fines up to $5,000.

What to do if you are the victim

If a car crashes into you and takes off instead of stopping or exchanging information, gather as much information about the accident as you can. Report to the police details about the accident such as the time and location and what damages you got as a result. If you are able to get a glimpse of the other driver’s car or license plate, be sure to include that information.

If you successfully identify who hit you, you can file a hit and run claim with the other driver’s insurance company. You can also pursue legal action against the other driver for any personal injuries caused by the accident. If the other driver is never caught, you cannot make a hit and run claim for your own auto liability insurance. However, there are other car insurance options that might be able to cover for a hit and run.

Categories

What Sets Us Apart?

  • Personalized Attention & Carefully Curated Legal Plans

    Our top priority is to secure successful results for our clients, and we dedicate the full time and attention that every case deserves so we can secure the results that our clients are looking for. We offer the combined insight and experience of a premier team of Minnesota attorneys, and have an impressive track record to back up our claims. We represent over 2,000 individuals and a large variety of businesses throughout northeastern Minnesota, resolving their most sensitive and difficult legal challenges through detailed representation and skilled trial advocacy.

  • Decades of Legal Excellence

    Trenti Law Firm is the largest firm in the region, and each of our firm’s attorneys is native to the Iron Range. With locations throughout Minnesota — in Virginia, Cloquet, Hibbing and Ely — we have a professional and personal interest and commitment to serving people across the region. As one of the region’s largest law firms, we combine the knowledge and service of seven attorneys, five legal assistants and four support staff members to get you the support you need during this difficult time.

  • Elite, Distinguished & Experienced Legal Representation

    Our firm has earned/maintains the AV Preeminent rating* from Martindale-Hubbell. The Av Rating is the highest possible rating given by Lexis-Nexis Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review for a lawyer and is established wholly on a peer-review basis. The AV Preeminent designation signifies that attorneys have been rated by Judges and fellow attorneys as having the highest possible rating for legal abilities and ethical standards.

You're Hurt. We're Here.

Schedule Your Consultation Today

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.